Former Liverpool star has his say on the penalty awarded to Chelsea in UEFA Super Cup clash

Former Liverpool midfielder Steve McManaman says he does not think Chelsea should have been given a penalty in the UEFA Super Cup clash with the Reds.

The Blues were awarded a penalty in the first half of extra time after former West Ham goalkeeper Adrian was adjudged to have fouled Tammy Abraham, with Jorginho stepping up to convert the spot kick.

That sent the game to a penalty shootout, which Liverpool won 5-4, but McManaman delivered his verdict on the penalty given to Chelsea in extra time.


“I don’t think it is a penalty,” he said, speaking on BT Sport’s coverage of the UEFA Super Cup clash.

“I don’t think the goalkeeper should be there, he doesn’t need to be there to give Tammy Abraham a decision to make.

Video Loading

Video Unavailable

“I think [Tammy] Abraham knows he is going to get there first, and that he won’t get possession of the ball, and he falls over. There is a tiny bit of contact on his knee.”

The award of the penalty was checked by the Video Assistant Referees, but the decision was not overturned, with former Chelsea manager Glenn Hoddle admitting that it was “not clear and obvious”.

Keep up to date with the latest Chelsea news, features and exclusives from via our free WhatsApp service .

Click here     to enroll or text NEWS to 07557204594 and then add the number to your phone contacts book as   chelsea dot london   (case sensitive, with spaces) to receive daily updates and breaking news from Oliver Harbord and the team on Chelsea.

Your phone number won’t be shared with any other members of the group. Click here for more information on the service.


Meanwhile, fellow pundit Joe Cole said there was no criticism of referee Stephanie Frappart for giving the spot kick, adding that he could not be sure whether it was or wasn’t a penalty.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *